How to have Visualisations while on YouTube etc

Discussion forum for WhiteCap users

Moderators: BTT, andy55, b.dwall, juxtiphi

Post Reply
JezUK
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:15 pm

How to have Visualisations while on YouTube etc

Post by JezUK »

I sometimes listen to chillout music on YouTube.

It'd be great to be able to have Visualisers running whilst that music off of YouTube is playing.

Please can you tell me how I can configure this.

For what it's worth, I use Google Chrome.

Thanks.

User avatar
DanPin
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles County, California

Re: How to have Visualisations while on YouTube etc

Post by DanPin »

JezUK wrote:It'd be great to be able to have Visualisers running whilst that music off of YouTube is playing.

Please can you tell me how I can configure this.
If you want to visualize YouTube music videos, if you have Platinum, you can use the Standalone application. You will need Realtek drivers (basically the Stereo Mix feature), or the SoundSpectrum Virtual Audio Cable to do this.

JezUK
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:15 pm

Post by JezUK »

Hi DanPin,

I have the Platinum version, I just bought it today.

And I've tried the Standalone version.

But all it sees is my Snowball Microphone.

How can I get it configured - for example, you mention the Virtual Audio Cable, where / what is that ?

Thanks.

User avatar
DanPin
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:43 pm
Location: Los Angeles County, California

Post by DanPin »

JezUK wrote:But all it sees is my Snowball Microphone.
By default upon installation, the Virtual Audio Cable is left unchecked, and is not installed. As this is optional, you will need try check that box (all you need to do is to rerun the installer).

User avatar
juxtiphi
Moderator
Posts: 1427
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 1:29 pm

Post by juxtiphi »

JezUK wrote:Hi DanPin,

I have the Platinum version, I just bought it today.

And I've tried the Standalone version.

But all it sees is my Snowball Microphone.

How can I get it configured - for example, you mention the Virtual Audio Cable, where / what is that ?

Thanks.
Hi jezUK


Please provide the specs on your computer or laptop.

The Standalone DOES NOT SPECIFICALLY NEED Realtek drivers to work, as long as the audio drivers in your computer are recognized by the SS software the Standalone will work.

Also Virtual Audio Cable is a third party software not affiliated with SS which can be downloaded for free.

downloads.tomsguide.com/Virtual-Audio-Cable,0301-31100.html

JezUK
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:15 pm

Post by JezUK »

DanPin wrote:
JezUK wrote:But all it sees is my Snowball Microphone.
By default upon installation, the Virtual Audio Cable is left unchecked, and is not installed. As this is optional, you will need try check that box (all you need to do is to rerun the installer).
Thanks DanPin,

That did the trick :)

Eternally grateful to you.

Have a good evening and thanks once again.

Post Reply