Overlay Script Help

Discussion forum for G-Force users

Moderators: BTT, andy55, b.dwall, juxtiphi

Post Reply
User avatar
splungent
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 pm

Overlay Script Help

Post by splungent »

Hello,
If possible I would like some help with a script I am trying to build. I would like to overlay some images to a timeline. The following script is named CTRL 7.txt
in order to have a hot key. Here is the script:

0:01
StartTextOverlay( "Band Name",
"", 28,
2, 13, 3,
0.0, .7, -1 );

0:15
StartImageOverlay( "/Lawry/~law1.jpg",
1, 4, 1,
0.0, 0.5, -1,
ss_OverlayBlend );

0:20
StartImageOverlay( "/Resources/Lawry/~law2.jpg",
1, 4, 1,
0.0, 0.5, -1,
ss_OverlayBlend );

0:25
StartImageOverlay( "/Resources/Lawry/~law3.jpg",
1, 4, 1,
0.0, 0.5, -1,
ss_OverlayBlend );

0:30
StartImageOverlay( "/Resources/Lawry/~law4.jpg",
1, 4, 1,
0.0, 0.5, -1,
ss_OverlayBlend );

0:35
StartImageOverlay( "/Resources/Lawry/~law5.jpg",
1, 4, 1,
0.0, 0.5, -1,
ss_OverlayBlend );

I did take a look at the Script Command Reference.txt but I am a little confused. I don't understand what the numbers control. I have a directory inside the resources directory with all the pictures. Any help is appreciated and an explanation of the numbered arguments would be greatly appreciated. Something like:

1 (controls), 4(controls), 1(controls),
0.0(controls), 0.5(controls), -1(controls),

Would help me understand the problem. Thank you for any help as I am a complete noob to this program.
Thanks Christopher

AKA
Big Brother on Acid

http://www.bigbrotheronacid.com

MEM
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 7:05 am

Post by MEM »

StartImageOverlay("1",2,3,4,5,6,7,"8",9)

1. Image Location
2. Fade in Duration
3. How long image remains on screen
4. How long image takes to fade out
5. Screen placement Horizontal
6. Screen placement Vertical
7. Image Scale
8. "Image Title"
9. Type of Image Overlay Blend

Image Overlay Blend

ss-OverlayAlphaBlend
ss-OverlayCopyMode
ss-OverlayBlend
ss-OverlayLuminosityBlend

User avatar
splungent
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 pm

Post by splungent »

Thank you very much for such a quick reply! I have one more issue. For some reason the program will not load the image. Here is a sample of the code I am using:

Code: Select all

StartImageOverlay(	"/Resources/Lawry/law1.jpg", 
					1, 4, 1,
					0.5, 0.5, -1,
					"http://slashdot.org", ss_OverlayBlend );
The program responds with "ERROR Loading '/Resources/Lawry/law1.jpg' (55010)

The directory Lawry is in the Resources folder. I did a search for code 55010 but it came back with no posts. Any ideas?
MEM wrote:StartImageOverlay("1",2,3,4,5,6,7,"8",9)

1. Image Location
2. Fade in Duration
3. How long image remains on screen
4. How long image takes to fade out
5. Screen placement Horizontal
6. Screen placement Vertical
7. Image Scale
8. "Image Title"
9. Type of Image Overlay Blend

Image Overlay Blend

ss-OverlayAlphaBlend
ss-OverlayCopyMode
ss-OverlayBlend
ss-OverlayLuminosityBlend
Thanks Christopher

AKA
Big Brother on Acid

http://www.bigbrotheronacid.com

User avatar
splungent
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 pm

Post by splungent »

splungent wrote:Thank you very much for such a quick reply! I have one more issue. For some reason the program will not load the image. Here is a sample of the code I am using:

Code: Select all

StartImageOverlay(	"/Resources/Lawry/law1.jpg", 
					1, 4, 1,
					0.5, 0.5, -1,
					"http://slashdot.org", ss_OverlayBlend );
The program responds with "ERROR Loading '/Resources/Lawry/law1.jpg' (55010)

The directory Lawry is in the Resources folder. I did a search for code 55010 but it came back with no posts. Any ideas?

I am using windows xp with the G force professional version.
MEM wrote:StartImageOverlay("1",2,3,4,5,6,7,"8",9)

1. Image Location
2. Fade in Duration
3. How long image remains on screen
4. How long image takes to fade out
5. Screen placement Horizontal
6. Screen placement Vertical
7. Image Scale
8. "Image Title"
9. Type of Image Overlay Blend

Image Overlay Blend

ss-OverlayAlphaBlend
ss-OverlayCopyMode
ss-OverlayBlend
ss-OverlayLuminosityBlend
Thanks Christopher

AKA
Big Brother on Acid

http://www.bigbrotheronacid.com

jerohm
Senior Member
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:19 pm

Post by jerohm »

Are you on a Windows machine? If so, I would try specifying the FULL pathname using backslashes and local disk (C: or whatever), instead of UNIX-like forward slashes. Just a thought.

User avatar
splungent
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 pm

Post by splungent »

Thanks, I will try that.
Thanks Christopher

AKA
Big Brother on Acid

http://www.bigbrotheronacid.com

User avatar
splungent
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 pm

Post by splungent »

Hello,
Still no good. I tried using the posix style and naming a full path. I moved the image to the C: drive and tried both of the following:

Code: Select all

StartImageOverlay(	"/Volumes/C:/splash.jpg", 
					3, 10, 3,
					0.0, 0.5, "abcdefghij",-1,

ss-OverlayBlend );

and 

StartImageOverlay(	"/C:/splash.jpg", 
					3, 10, 3,
					0.0, 0.5, "abcdefghij",-1,

ss-OverlayBlend );

Now I get error code 55100

I have also tried to put splash.jpg in the g-force directory in these ways"

Code: Select all


StartImageOverlay(	"splash.jpg", 
					3, 10, 3,
					0.0, 0.5, "abcdefghij",-1,

ss-OverlayBlend );

and  

StartImageOverlay(	"/splash.jpg", 
					3, 10, 3,
					0.0, 0.5, "abcdefghij",-1,

ss-OverlayBlend );

In the first example the image does not load and I get no error code, in the second example I get Error loading "/splash.jpg" 55010

I am wondering if the fact that I used to have g-force platinum on this machine prior to installing the professional license has something to do with it? In the docs it says overlay only works on the trial and professional versions. I no longer have the platinum version installed but maybe it left a registry key? I am grasping at straws here. I am using the program on win xp.
Thanks Christopher

AKA
Big Brother on Acid

http://www.bigbrotheronacid.com

jerohm
Senior Member
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:19 pm

Post by jerohm »

you are NOT using BACKSLASHES that DOS(Windows) likes. Try:
"C:\splash.jpg" <- **NOTE** No leading BACKSLASH and USE THIS: '\' NOT THIS: '/' when specifiying a Windows pathname.
j

User avatar
splungent
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 pm

Overlay problem SOLVED!

Post by splungent »

Hello,
I spent some time adjusting the path name using the POSIX and windows (I am using WINDOWS XP) path names, but could not get the overlay function to work. I then decided to do a complete uninstall and reinstall. I used to have G-Force platinum installed and had a suspicion that there may be a registry key which tricked the program into thinking I was running the platinum version. As the documentation says the overlay will only work on "Trial versions and Professional versions. I am using the professional. So I uninstalled G-Force and then ran a registry cleaner and rebooted. I then downloaded the newest Professional version of the program and installed. I modified the example overlay script keeping the path:

Code: Select all

StartImageOverlay&#40;			"/Resources/my-images/image1.jpg", 
					1, 4, 1,
					0.0, 0.5, -1,
					"SOME TEXT", ss_OverlayBlend &#41;;
This still didn't work. I then realized that I didn't need the first forward slash because G-Force already has me in that directory so I dropped it and it worked. Here is the script that worked:

Code: Select all

StartImageOverlay&#40;			"Resources/my-images/image1.jpg", 
					1, 4, 1,
					0.0, 0.5, -1,
					"ABCDEFG", ss_OverlayBlend &#41;;
The only issue is the text "ABCDEFG" does not show up. I will continue playing around with this until I get it. I am happy I can use the overlay function and the text is not a big deal right now. I am not sure why the uninstall and reinstall worked but it did. I tried using the same path name and many windows path names prior to doing the uninstall reinstall and they did not work. Each time I modified the script I saved it and used the SHIFT u keyboard shortcut to rescan all folders and then hit CTRL 6 (The name of my script is "CTRL 6.txt" ) to load the script. My thanks to everyone who responded. I hope this post will be useful to someone in the future.
Thanks Christopher

AKA
Big Brother on Acid

http://www.bigbrotheronacid.com

MEM
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 7:05 am

Post by MEM »

Ok your overlay image is coming up correctly now? But the text is a different issue. to do text use the following, you have to use a different set up and parameters.

Code
Start Text Overlay( "TESTING","Times",72,2,8,2,0.5,0.5,1,"");


StartTextOverlay( "1","2",3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10);

1. Text to be printed
2. Font Type
3. Font Size
4. How long text takes to fade in
5. How long text remains on screen
6. How long text takes to fade out
7. Screen placement Horizontal
8. Screen placement Vertical
9. Text Scale
10. "Text Title"

Also correct above Resources is teh default directory unless you specify differently with complete drive and path.

User avatar
splungent
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:28 pm

Post by splungent »

Thanks Mem! I appreciate the overlay text breakdown as it will keep me from asking a question about that. The text I was referring to was the "image title" in the image overlay function. Number 8:

StartImageOverlay("1",2,3,4,5,6,7,"8",9)

1. Image Location
2. Fade in Duration
3. How long image remains on screen
4. How long image takes to fade out
5. Screen placement Horizontal
6. Screen placement Vertical
7. Image Scale
8. "Image Title"
9. Type of Image Overlay Blend

I thought there would be a caption with the image. In the following example I expected to see "abcdefghij" by the image.

Code: Select all

StartImageOverlay&#40;   "Resources/my-images/image1.jpg",
               3, 10, 3,
               0.0, 0.5, "abcdefghij",-1,

ss-OverlayBlend &#41;; 

I only see the image but no text. Is the text there as an alternative? Like the alt tag in html?

Code: Select all

<img src="yaya'jpg" alt="yaya" /> 
Or is there supposed to be a caption? That is the text I didn't see.

Thanks again!
Thanks Christopher

AKA
Big Brother on Acid

http://www.bigbrotheronacid.com

Post Reply